Procrastination, Time Management & Purpose

According to Wikipedia (2015) “Procrastination is the practice of carrying out less urgent tasks in preference to more urgent ones, or doing more pleasurable things in place of less pleasurable ones, and thus putting off impending tasks to a later time, sometimes to the “last minute” before a deadline.”

Time Management NaomiMcLaughlan

Well, I have been procrastinating some tasks for many days, weeks and even month before, only to realise that it wasn’t as bad as I thought after all. The funny thing is not all tasks were bad ones either, like for example my current Non-for-Profit Crowdfunding Campaign for Ghanaian Entrepreneurs on Indigogo; it is a lovely cause and I am fully committed to bring it to light!

Nevertheless, scheduling the video recording, writing the background story and editing all images and texts were still tasks that had to be completed at some point. Time Management and Chunking tasks into smaller day-to-day activities were my Key Anchors to finally being able to press ‘publish’ last Sunday.  I feel very accomplished having completed it now, but it wasn’t easy, as I fell in the procrastination trap more than once in the past month.

Another area of my recent procrastination episode was consistently writing this blog; although I love writing it still always came last on my to-do list.I Love Writing NaomiMcLaughlan And each time I missed writing before or latest on a Wednesday, I put it off until the next week. Shame on me! 😉 I enjoy connecting with you via this blog, so I had to remind myself of the Purpose of doing so. As soon as I put thought to the ‘Why’ I am writing my blog, my ‘writers block’ vanished and writing articles is again back on top of my To-do list.

Here is my Top 5 List on How to Eliminate Procrastination:

  1. List all Tasks
  2. Sort the Tasks in three categories; Urgent, Important and Essential
  3. Chunk large Tasks into manageable Day-to-Day Activities
  4. Schedule your tasks into your Day and Week Planner
  5. Follow through & Complete all Tasks

To do List Image NaomiMcLaughlan

Now it’s your time, what are your main tasks you try to avoid? What gets you out of the procrastination ‘Hamster Wheel’? Let me know in the comments section below.

All the Best,

Naomi xxx

One thought on “Procrastination, Time Management & Purpose

Leave a Reply

