Help fund Training for Ghanaian Entrepreneurs

As some of you might already know, I am half German and half Ghanaian and although I never visited Ghana as a child, I travelled to my dad’s homeland with my children 10 years ago for the first time. I loved the country, the people and the culture right away. Everyone seemed happy and cheerful, despite the high level of poverty. I realised quickly that Ghana is a developing country and that things like fresh clean water, constant electricity or even education are only available for those who can afford it.

Map of Africa NaomiMcLaughlan

Since my first visit, I always wanted to change something; I just didn’t know how I could help.

Last year between October and November 2014 I conducted primary research in form of 100 individual interviews of local entrepreneurs and business owners in Kumasi, Ghana, West Africa. The aim of the research was to decide whether there is a demand of business seminars and to use the findings to decide to add business seminars to my existing product and service range.

The research took place at the premises of the survey participants. 80% of the interviewed survey participants declared an extreme interest in the service offer, while 11% were slightly interested and only 9% were not interested in business and marketing seminars conducted locally.

Although only 32% of the survey participants stated the need of financial assistance to cover the costs of a seminar ticket, 68% claimed to be not able or willing to pay a ticket price higher than 250 GH₵ / £50.  Yet, a seminar can only be offered by me and my local team, if either the number of participants exceeds 100 people per seminar, which is not desirable due to the lack of possible individual support needed, or additional funding can be acquired otherwise, due to the estimated budget. I and my team are willing to provide the service on a non-profit basis in Kumasi, Ghana to help teach as many people as possible.

I sincerely believe that providing entrepreneurs and micro-business owners with a professional business and marketing training to be the key for a better future for themselves and their families.

After hours of thinking how I could offer the service, I discovered crowdfunding as an alternative funding option and therefore initiated a crowdfunding campaign on Indigogo, to cover the costs of business seminars in Ghana.

So far the respond has been great and I received many emails offering additional help, unfortunately the campaign has not received any financial support yet. Needless to say that I hope the campaign will be successful, as it still runs for another 43 days.

Please check out the campaign site as well and donate a $1 if you can (or more of cause 😉 )

Sending You my Appreciation & All the Best

Naomi xxx

Leave a Reply

