How I discover valuable information on the WWW & My bookshelf

Search NaomiMcLaughlanI find the internet extremely useful mainly because it saves me a lot of time. When I try to find something out about a new topic, I can find it almost every time no matter what I am looking for.

The information provided broadens my knowledge immense and allows me to access information I would be researching offline probably for weeks or even month.

The word wide web offers everyone to upload whatever the person feels need to be published. As there is almost no restriction to what is put on the websites there are lots of subjective and questionable ones online. Therefore, I am precautious on what kind of information might be the ‘real deal’ and what might be inaccurate or nonsense.

With this in mind, I consider the information found and use the CARS checklist;

  • Credibility
  • Accuracy
  • Reasonableness
  • Support

I also often crosscheck information from several sources.  I apply common sense in my research and ask myself whether the website is a private or commercial website or whether the information comes from an organisation, University etc.?

For someone who has never used the internet for research before, it might be best to stick to online libraries or real books.


Depending on the goals I set for myself I try to read as much as I can about the subject and as I just described above about the overload of information on the World Wide Web, I have to admit that I still fancy real books, as they have been carefully crafted and decrease the time for finding valuable and valid knowledge.

Have a look at my bookshelf – My most favourite books I have read so far are;

Naomi Mc Laughlans Bookshelf 2015

Money goals:

Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill, Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, Get Rich, Lucky Bitch by Denise Duffield-Thomas, The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

Personal Development goals:

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living, How to Develop Self-Confidence, Influence People by Public Speaking, Make Yourself Unforgettable all by Dale Carnegie, May Cause Miracles by Gabrielle Bernstein

Management goals:

Time Management for Dummies by Clare Evans, The Chimp Paradox by Dr Steve Peters, The Charge and Leadership Guide by Brendon Buchard

Fitness goals:

The 10-Pound Shred by Tommy Europe, Walking for Fitness by Nina Barough

Healthy eating/diet goals:

The Dukan Diet by Dr Pierre Dukan, The FAB Diet by Rosemary Conley, Crazy Sexy Kitchen by Kris Carr, Love Is In The Mix by Kate Gosselin, Baking Made Easy by Lorraine Pascale

Which books do you love and like to recommend?

Please LIKE & Share

All the Best,

Naomi

Leave a Reply

