Gratitude & Well-being – 31 Day Challenge / Day 5

Thank you Naomi Mc Laughlan

Unfortunately many people feel under-appreciated at home and in their workplace, which may influence their health negatively, cause drama and unhappiness.

According to a recent study report from Randy A. Sansone, MD and Lori A. Sansone, MD, gratitude is connected to well-being, as they state “… gratitude is the appreciation of what is valuable and meaningful to oneself; it is a general state of thankfulness and/or appreciation. The majority of empirical studies indicate that there is an association between gratitude and a sense of overall wellbeing.”

Do you feel undervalued at times? If so, what do you do about it?

On the other hand, do you appreciate other people and show or tell them how much their effort means to you?

Here is my Top 5 List of how to show appreciation:

  1. Say thank you; as obvious as it may seem it is important
  2. Smile; who doesn’t love a 😉 ?
  3. Write a note or card; I personally love these little pieces of care
  4. Thank the person and say how they have made your day special; pointing out what and how it is helpful makes it even more distinct
  5. Acknowledge the persons positive attributes when you speak to another person; even if the other person cannot hear you, you are sending out love

Philip Watkins, Kathrane Woodward, Tamara Stone and Russel Kolts ,from the Eastern Washington University, conducted a study on ‘Gratitude and Happiness’ and conclude “We have found that grateful individuals tend to be happy individuals, and that grateful thinking improves mood. …findings suggest that gratitude may be an important component of the good life”

Why not make it a habit to show appreciation as a means of positive cause of action for your loved ones and others, as well as for yourself?

So Thank You for taking time to read what I write, for sharing, liking and commenting my blog posts!

Let me know what you think.

All the Best & Speak to you tomorrow,

Naomi xxx

2 thoughts on “Gratitude & Well-being – 31 Day Challenge / Day 5

  1. This is a great post. I feel old-fashioned when I send a thank you card or write a note to someone…but I feel great when I’ve done it because I know I have probably surprised someone and cheered them up if they are a bit down. I’ve always been a smiley person, so I’ve got that one covered!

  2. Hi Sarina,

    Thank you for you lovely comment.

    I agree, a written note is a little nostalgic, but I think that is maybe the reason why I believe it makes it so special, as it takes more than a few seconds to write and maybe even post it, as opposed to a digital message.

    I completed a work assignment a couple of month ago for an organisation in Germany and they were so kind to send me a postcard with a beach to thank me for my work.

    I was delighted to be honest, because they considered that I love beaches and they took the time to send the card to me. As this has happened at only very few occasions, I was more than happily surprised.

Leave a Reply

