How to start a Hermann – A German Culinary Friendship Chain Cake (+Letter) – 31 Day Challenge / Day 12

 

How to Start a Hermann Naomi Mc Laughlan

You may be wondering – What is a ‘Hermann’ exactly?

…Okay, let me start at the beginning…

In West Germany where I grew up, in the early 1980s to the late 1990s, almost everyone I knew either started their own Hermann or was given one by a friend. I was received many by my dear friends too.

Hermann was a liquid, bubbly cake sourdough that came in a Tupperware box, accompanied with a letter of how to look after him. The instructions outlined how to ‘feed’ Hermann and how to bake one and share three, after a ten day ‘growth’ period.

I have honestly no clue who initially came up with the idea and even a Google search did not clarify who the inventor was, although according to Wikipedia it has been around since the 70s and was also called ‘Good Luck Cake’ and ‘Vatican Bread’. But I wasn’t born by then and I have never heard the other two names before, so I cannot account to it 😉 . Anyway I think he or she made thousands of people happy.

Last weekend my kids were super bored and I remembered how much fun I had when I took part in the friendship chain cake, so we started one ourselves.

Use the below ‘Dough Approach’ to start your Hermann and use the below letter to give to your friends 🙂

Herman A German Friendship Chain Cake Naomi Mc Laughlan


 

Hermann Raise and Care Naomi Mc Laughlan

I have created another printable version of this recipe, and the letter so that you can print them out and start giving it to your family, friends and colleagues after starting your own Hermann.

 

Let me know what you think.

All the Best & Speak to you tomorrow,

Naomi xxx

Leave a Reply

